top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLewis Radbourne

Ex- Reading striker seals to move to Australia

Reading youth product Simon Cox has left League One side Southend United by mutual consent to join Australian A-League side Western Sydney Wanderers.

The striker, 32, has been at Roots Hall for the past three and a half years after joining when his Reading contract expired.

He has now decided to travel down under for a new challenge, signing a 1 and a half year deal. Wanderers' currently sit fourth from bottom, only winning one of their last five games.

"I'm really looking forward to it," Cox told the Wanderers' website. "I've never been to Australia so I'm looking forward to come over and score some goals, that's what I'm there to do, and that's what I've been doing most my career. I'm expecting a big challenge."

Cox scored 45 goals in 172 games for the shrimpers, spending his full three seasons there as the club's top scorer in each season.

8 views0 comments
bottom of page